What happens if an account that is configured on a mail client as IMAP is also configured as POP3

By using the IMAP protocol, the emails are saved on the server and all the users who access the account, through client or from the webmail, can view them. Should users, when setting-up the shared account, set the incoming mail protocol to POP3 (without selecting the ‘Leave a copy of the messages on the Server’ option) they will download all the incoming messages found on the server and these will no longer be available to users who access the account using the IMAP protocol, or our webmail.